"There is nothing like walking down the street and seeing a building older than 100 years old..."
Pioneers are the greatest assets a community can have. Holding memories of the past, they carry our history with stories and artifacts breathing life into our museum. As you explore the exhibits and displays throughout, millennium picture windows shine light on our heritage. Beautifully painted by Kenny Fuller, they depict images of our area’s history.
Built in 1909, the museum is the oldest and tallest building in Englehart housing three floors and a vast collection of artifacts spanning from the prehistoric era to the early 20th century.
We are indebted to our forefathers for not only establishing our community, but for leaving us this living legacy in the vibrantly welcoming family we proudly call Englehart.
“The Old White Schoolhouse”
A Vision of Home. A Dream of Significance.
Take a walk through time with a visit to the Englehart and Area Historical Museum. As you truly explore “a learning experience in a school house”, discover three floors of over 17,000 artifacts. Home to both permanent and temporary exhibits, the museum hosts features and activities for all to enjoy.
The Englehart and Area Historical Museum evolved from the vision of founder and advocate, Mrs. Ruby Bryan, owner of the local furniture store. For the area’s 50th Anniversary, Mrs. Bryan set up a temporary museum to showcase the effects of area pioneers discarding for modern home furnishings.
Prior to its current purpose, the present museum building opened its doors embracing education to students in 1909. The rooms would continue to later serve as the high school until 1951 at which time primary grades would return and occupy the classes once more until 1976.
Over time, Mrs. Bryan’s artifacts continued to accumulate. In 1977 the Town of Englehart took possession of the building agreeing to house the collection. Although the building has seen multiple renovations, it has retained its original 1909 floors and ceilings. Generous donations of time, expertise and money support us in our endeavors to preserve our local history.
Open May to October, Wednesday to Sunday: 10:00am – 4:00pm
Any other time is by appointment only.
Call 705-544-2244 to book a tour.
To "Take a Walk through Time" or for more information please contact:
Ph: (705) 544 2400 • Fax: (705) 544 8737 • Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
67 - 6th Ave., P.O Box 444 Englehart, ON P0J 1H0
Please follow us on Facebook.
- Employment Opportunities
- Town Hall
- No. 701 Steam Engine
- Historical Museum
- Kap-Kig-Iwan Park
- Englehart Fall Fair
- Festival of Flowers
- Fishing & Hunting
- Hill's Lake Fish Culture Station
- Hilliardton Marsh Research & Education Centre
- Larder River
- Rod Inglis Memorial Steam & Antique Show
- Stan Martin Memorial Mud Bog Truck & ATV Competition
- Temiskaming Drag 'N' Fly Summer Classic
- Winter Fun
- Town Facts
- Business & Community Directory
- Recreation Services & Facilities
- Englehart Chamber of Commerce
- Service Clubs
- Cemetery and Funeral Services
- Child Care Services
- Englehart Public Library
- Health, Wellness and Support
- Emergency Response
- North View Nursing Home Family Council
- Places of Worship